A hysterectomy is a surgical procedure that involves the removal of the uterus. Depending on the specific type of hysterectomy, other reproductive organs such as the cervix, ovaries, and fallopian tubes may also be removed. Hysterectomy is a common and major surgical procedure that can be performed for various medical reasons.


Medical Conditions: Hysterectomy may be recommended for various medical conditions, including:

  • Uterine fibroids (noncancerous growths in the uterus).
  • Endometriosis (a condition where tissue similar to the lining of the uterus grows outside the uterus).
  • Uterine cancer.
  • Chronic pelvic pain.
  • Abnormal bleeding that does not respond to other treatments.
  • Prolapsed uterus (when the uterus descends into the vaginal canal).


Types of Hysterectomy:


Total Hysterectomy: Removal of the uterus and cervix.


Subtotal or Partial Hysterectomy: Removal of the upper part of the uterus, leaving the cervix intact.

Radical Hysterectomy: In addition to the uterus and cervix, nearby tissues such as the upper part of the vagina and supporting ligaments may be removed. This is typically done for certain gynecological cancers.